PDA

View Full Version : email with virus attached?


Lindsey Doyle
24-02-2004, 00:26
Hi,
I've just deleted an email I'd received from "<a href="mailto:Webmaster@bsac.com">Webmaster@bsac.com</a>"
subject "something for you", saying "yes, really" and with an attachment called "release.zip" which I did NOT open!
I'm presuming it was NOT genuine, so would like to post a warning for others to take care.
If it was genuine, sorry, could you send it again, not so mysteriously!!
Cheers, Lindsey.
P.S , also had another suspicious one seeming to be from Eastern Region mail group.

Nigel Hewitt
24-02-2004, 05:26
I've just deleted an email I'd received from "<a href="mailto:Webmaster@bsac.com">Webmaster@bsac.com</a>"
subject "something for you", saying "yes, really" and with an attachment called "release.zip" which I did NOT open!

About 30K? Lots of it about. It spoofs the from address so the one person you know it wasn't from is <a href="mailto:Webmaster@bsac.com">Webmaster@bsac.com</a> just somebody who has both of you in their addres book.

nigelH

webmaster
24-02-2004, 07:25
I get dozens of these every day. As Nigel has explained,it is the result of perhaps only one member of our diving community, who happens to have a long list of diving or BSAC contacts in his mail list, even if he did not actively put them there, opening such an attachment. The only way to prevent falling into the same trap is extreme vigilance, or let one of the Anti-Virus filters do the work for you. I have found Norton Anti-Virus from Symantec.com an excellent solution.
The Golden Rule is still not to open an attachment unless you are SURE that it is genuine. When sending out an email with an attachment make sure you give it a name that will mean something to the recipient.

Mike

Hi,
I've just deleted an email I'd received from "<a href="mailto:Webmaster@bsac.com">Webmaster@bsac.com</a>"
subject "something for you", saying "yes, really" and with an attachment called "release.zip" which I did NOT open!
I'm presuming it was NOT genuine, so would like to post a warning for others to take care.
If it was genuine, sorry, could you send it again, not so mysteriously!!
Cheers, Lindsey.
P.S , also had another suspicious one seeming to be from Eastern Region mail group.

Vic
24-02-2004, 12:20
&gt; I get dozens of these every day.

Care to send me a couple?

I've written a couple of procmail filters recently - so far, I've hit all the worms and almost all the spam. But I could always do with some new test vectors ;-)

The address to use for this is <a href="mailto:virustest@beer.org.uk">virustest@beer.org.uk</a> .

Ta!

Vic.

Lindsey Doyle
24-02-2004, 22:27
cheers everyone, I know it's a bit naive of me, i haven't had much to do with viruses. (I do have anti-virus software).
Lindsey.