ChristianG
20-09-2008, 10:11
I belong to a specialist underwater photography Forum which is arguably the oldest in the business, it is also my favourite one, more a Club than a Forum and its membership includes some very serious photographers indeed with most members having been there for many, many years. I've alluded to it previously and if you want to know more, speak to me privately.
The current Forum Administrator/Owner, a member of many years standing that I know well, recently posted as follows:
Be Aware. Beware.
A diver who booked one of my trips this morning told me yesterday that my dive/photo trips, which I only sell direct to divers/photographers, were available for sale on save-money-diving.com (http://www.save-money-diving.com/). I went to check.
I found my trips and many others listed and offered for booking that I know the site is not authorised to sell. Trips that are full, charters that are not for sale to the general public are listed there as if they are available. Dates are incorrect. Prices are both higher and lower than you would pay a travel agent or for a direct booking. Terms and conditions are incorrect for those I checked where I do know the exact details of T&C, price and availability.
Finally ... I tried to book one of my own trips (that I haven't authorised them to sell) and gave a virtual credit card with a $5 limit.
Although the site says:
"Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) will only be charged when a booking is confirmed."
Within minutes I had a call from the bank to tell me they had rejected the charge (3,536.51 GBP (equivalent as I speak - CG), MUCH more than my actual price of the trip - but as listed on the SMD site) and asked if my card was in my possession, etc.
The company was trying to charge my card BEFORE they had confirmed the booking, which they could NEVER have confirmed since I don't price my trips to pay commission.
Our member is (at least trying) to follow this up although I rather doubt that they'll get very far - if anything transpires I'll post a follow-up.
My suggestion would be to be very careful of these people. Personally I wouldn't touch them with the proverbial bargepole.
I am posting this on several Forums that I'm a member of.
The current Forum Administrator/Owner, a member of many years standing that I know well, recently posted as follows:
Be Aware. Beware.
A diver who booked one of my trips this morning told me yesterday that my dive/photo trips, which I only sell direct to divers/photographers, were available for sale on save-money-diving.com (http://www.save-money-diving.com/). I went to check.
I found my trips and many others listed and offered for booking that I know the site is not authorised to sell. Trips that are full, charters that are not for sale to the general public are listed there as if they are available. Dates are incorrect. Prices are both higher and lower than you would pay a travel agent or for a direct booking. Terms and conditions are incorrect for those I checked where I do know the exact details of T&C, price and availability.
Finally ... I tried to book one of my own trips (that I haven't authorised them to sell) and gave a virtual credit card with a $5 limit.
Although the site says:
"Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) will only be charged when a booking is confirmed."
Within minutes I had a call from the bank to tell me they had rejected the charge (3,536.51 GBP (equivalent as I speak - CG), MUCH more than my actual price of the trip - but as listed on the SMD site) and asked if my card was in my possession, etc.
The company was trying to charge my card BEFORE they had confirmed the booking, which they could NEVER have confirmed since I don't price my trips to pay commission.
Our member is (at least trying) to follow this up although I rather doubt that they'll get very far - if anything transpires I'll post a follow-up.
My suggestion would be to be very careful of these people. Personally I wouldn't touch them with the proverbial bargepole.
I am posting this on several Forums that I'm a member of.